December 21, 2009

  • A Blessed Christmas to all my Xanga friends.
    I have really neglected you all!
    But I have been reading all my subscriptions through my e-mail digest.

    There has not been much going on here.
    Our lives are really quite quiet.
    Any news usually involves the kids and/or grands.

    Most of you are interested in our traveling son and family.
    Right now they are camping in the desert just west of Yuma AZ.  They will stay in that general area until Jeff’s next PGA signage job, which will be in Newport Beach, CA, about mid-February.
    Their last job was in Alabama in Oct.  From there they headed to Arizona. 
    They spent a few days at the Grand Canyon, and one day they hiked about 1/2 way down and back up.
    This picture was about 1/2 way up (or down).  They carried Catalina in a back carrier (I think that is what they said).
    Jeff and Catalina:
     
    From there they went to Phoenix.  They camped at Lake Pleasant and then across the valley by the Superstition Mtns.  They got to visit my sis and hubby, and had dinner with one of Ken’s niece’s.  Jeff hadn’t seen his cousin since about high school!
    The highlight of their time there was spending a week camped at the Phoenix International Raceway.  Jeff and young Kenny went to the Nascar races on Saturday and Sunday.  A real thrill for them!!
    They then went up to Las Vegas.  They were going to camp at the KOA by Circus Circus.  Found out it would cost $70 A NIGHT!  The gal at the desk said they could all get a room at Circus Circus for 1/2 that—$35, so that is what they did.  Those of you that have been to Vegas know how far it is from Circus Circus down to the MGM/New York-New York/Tropicana/Excalibur  corner.  Jeff and Judy left the kids in the hotel room and walked the whole length and back, going through hotels along the way.  Then did it again the next day with the kids.  From the night before, Jeff knew which places the kids would enjoy seeing.
    They then spent a few days camping on Lake Mead and hiking to Hoover Dam.
    Then they went down to Laughlin.
    It just so happened that one of Ken’s sis and hubby were spending a month right across the Colorado River in Bullhead City.  Jeff was able to park the bus at the River Palms RV park (for free), which is located up on a bluff.  They could look right across the river at the motel Ken’s sis was staying at.  They got together for a while almost every day.  They all went together to church the last Sunday they were there. They had to take two cars (church is 75 miles away in Kingman).  Young Kenny rode with Linda’s hubby, Roy, who is an avid golfer.  Kenny loves golf, the two of them yakked about golf both ways!
    Linda always takes an early morning walk wearing a red jacket, and Jeff said he could see her walking every morning through his binoculars!  She celebrated her birthday while they were there, and she took a birthday cake over to the bus, so they could celebrate with her!
    Jeff is now spending his time by Yuma making minor repairs to the bus, but having problems finding some needed parts.  He will figure it out, though.
    They were supposed to meet up with son, Jacob (living in San Jose, CA) for Christmas near Joshua Tree National Park.  But Jacob is in his last year of Chiropractic College, and is working in the school’s clinic now, and he cannot get away then.  Maybe later on.
    That brings you up to date with them. 
    I think I mentioned that their daughter, Mindy, got engaged to her long-time boyfriend a few months ago, and plans a 2011 wedding.  They will be stopping in to visit Christmas afternoon.  They live in LaCrosse, but Andy’s folks live down in Sheboygan, so they are coming for Christmas with his family.

    Local family is all doing well.  Greg is still putting in long hours at the Club.  Even though the golf course is closed, they have started keeping the club open year-around, so he has to do any plowing.  The club is also talking about utilizing the golf course during the winter by having cross-country skiing.  Greg is against it, because it just means even more work—with no more help.  His summer help is all gone.  And he usually spends the winters doing maintenance on their equipment.
    We spent Thanksgiving at their house.  No turkey—–venison.  Lori’s brother got a deer, but his family doesn’t like venison, so he gave the deer to Greg and Lori.  Lori’s dad was there, too, and her brother stopped in for a few minutes.  Hadn’t seen either of them in a couple years.  Good to see them. 
    We brought the makings for malts for dessert.  We all had our share, and there was still a little left in the bowl.  Greg took care of that, while Silas watched:

    On Dec. 9th, we had a big snowstorm.  We were without power for a couple hours during the night.  We only got about 9″, which we were thankful for.  Inland areas received around 15″.  It was a very wet, heavy snow, and a few branches broke off of some of the evergreens.  But it looked very pretty in the early morning near dawn.



    We were over there again a couple weeks later to celebrate Silas’s 21st birthday.  Chili and cheesecake to eat!
    Silas with what he claims was his first alcoholic drink.  Yeah, right!!!!!  lol  The glass says “My Birthday Margarita”.


    Ken took some candy over there, and he had fun playing with it:


    I had our tree and all the house decorations up by Thanksgiving.
    Part of the tree:
     
    I picked up a bunch of crosses at Hobby Lobby to go along with the ones I already had.  Love them.
    I also bought a 34″ white tree for my bedroom.  I absolutely love it.  Now, I’d like to replace the big tree with a white one.  Maybe sometime in the future.
     
    It is on top of my armoire.  This next one is with the flash.

    Close-up of the glass nativity underneath:


    That about brings you up to date. 
    Went to the Christmas program at Greg’s church Sunday.  Sylvia and Linden did a good job!!  This was Sylvia’s last year.  They are all growing up too quickly!!  At least Linden is only 8, and has a few more years to go.
    It was very pleasant going there this year.  Last year we battled a horrible blizzard to get there.  Terrible winds, too.

    Ken’s birthday is the 30th, and will have our usual party here then.

    I pray you all have a wonderful and blessed Christmas season with family and/or friends.
    Love you all!!

Comments (18)

  • Nancy, you have the most beautiful Christmas trees – you could be a professional tree “dresser”!

    We miss you here on Xanga.

  • You do the most beautiful decorating I’ve ever seen!!! You are truly and artist.

  • ‘er AN artist

  • @suzyQ_darnit - 

    You and Carol are so sweet with your compliments. I do “OK”, but nothing compared to the real pros!! I wish I could do as well!

  • They are right you are missed here Thank you for the update of your family , its lovely to hear about them Wishing Ken and you a wonderful Christmas

    What a game that was on Sunday I have had to watch the highlights about 3 times Big Ben is on his way to the Hall of Fame someday

  • Love Ken’s eyes and your white tree. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    (not to sure about what that Gingerbread cookie does)

  • This is a complete up date about all the family .

    The way of life of Jeff and his wife always will amaze me . They are formidable !! And Jeff finds jobs everywhere . It is sure it is better in Arizona at this time of the year !
    Thank you for your wishes Nancy . I wish to you and Ken a merry Christmas .
     Love

    Michel

  • I saw a “winter village” on display the other day and thought about you !!!! The white tree is lovely – I WANT one- but it’s too late now We used to have 6ft silver tree which I absolutely loved now I have a teeny weeny 3ft one but at least I can fix it myself. Marie

  • One heck of a storm is headed your way.  Lis is battening down the hatches.  Hope that Christmas doesn’t get a snowout!  Glad all is well with family.  Tell Ken I said Happy Birthday as I will forget by then.  Sending love to you and yours TONTOO

  • Merry Christmas. I enjoyed your post.

  • Glad you’re still around.  Merry Christmas, Mimi.

  • It looks like you have been keeping busy!

    Your white tree looks really pretty! I have seen some white trees that don’t look nice because they are very thin and see through-ish, but yours looks nice and thick and the decorations look pretty. Of course, I think your green tree is always beautiful!

    I hope you are having a very merry Christmas!

  • Hope you had a Merry Christmas. I see you posted your Christmas trees again this year. I try to keep up and have posted mine too. Cheers

  • You certinly must have had a Merry christmas!!  The pictures are just lovely and seem to say that you had a wonderful family experience!! (smile!!)

    ………..Stanelle :D

  • Wow…the family has grown!  Pictures are great!Love your tree! 

    Hope your holidays were wonderful…Happy birthday Ken!  Have a Happy New Years too!

  • Happy New Year , Nancy and Ken.
    Love
    Michel

  • Thank you so much for the Xmas Card you sent me Sadly I sent none this year  I have been able to catch up with you a lot  looking at all you have written I hope the New Year  is good for you and wish you all the best Love Marj[Portia} I have been so remiss wonder you remember who I am but I do not come on much anymore

  • The travelers remind me of the 10 wonderful years on the road, traveling this fantastically beautiful land from sea to shining sea.  Instead of children, we had pets.  Everytime I see an RV , it reminds me of JouJou and makes me sad.  She was such an important part of our travels.  Made friends all over the country and everyone remembered her….not us, but her.

    Your Christmas trees are exquisite…I can tell you don’t have cats..lol.  I have to have wooden or other unbreakable ornaments!

    FB just doesn’t really do it for the details of what is going on in other’s lives and other’s throughts, joys and frustrations.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *