September 4, 2009

  • OUT OF COMMISSION

    I was “lucky” enough to wrench my right knee about 3 weeks ago.  It was doing OK until last Friday.  After going to church that morning we ran errands—WalMart, Menards, bakery.  Too much walking on that bad knee.  Could hardly put any weight on it until Tuesday.  It is slowly getting better—”slowly” being the operative word!  Frustrating is what it is! 
    Ken’s sis from Georgia was supposed to come this week–Wednesday, and Ken was so good about getting the house cleaned up.  I dusted and straightened up, but he did the scrubbing of the floor and the vacuuming, and washed all the throw rugs.  Then we found out she isn’t coming this week—maybe next week.  Oh well, the house had really gone to pot while I was out of commission!

    Thank you all for your birthday greetings!  They are much appreciated—even though I am not happy about being another year older!  Better than the alternative,though.

    The week before my birthday, we went to visit Ken’s sis and hubby, who live about 1 1/2 hrs. away.  I had pictures on my blog last year when we went to visit them.  Linda has the most beautiful garden!  And she made Popcorn Salad for lunch.  Sounds odd, but it was delicious!  Popcorn with celery, water chestnuts, bacon and cheese in a mayo dressing.  I plan on making it when Ken’s other sis finally gets here.
    The day went by way too quickly.  We never stop yakking.
    Here are some pics of their garden.  She like to make little vignettes.
    This is her “yellow” garden:

    She loves garage sales.  Picks up things for free or next to nothing and paints them.
     

    And, her beautiful, unusual Aztec sunflower:
     
     It was a beautiful day in her garden.  The weather was perfect, just a little windy.
    Love this annual get-together.  Hate coming home to our lackluster plantings.  The weather this year was way too cool, and my flowers did not do well at all!! 

    The travelers are in New Orleans right now—well, a campground just outside the city.  They will be leaving late today to tomorrow, heading slowly towards Mobile, Alabama.  Poor baby Catalina got too many mosquito bites, and was feverish for a couple days.  Poor thing.  I remember that happening to her dad, Jeff, when he was about 3 yrs. old.  We came back here from Colorado for a visit, and Jeff played outside under all the trees.  Got eaten alive by the mosquitoes just before we left to go back to Colorado, and he felt miserable all the way home.  Not itchy so much, just feverish.  He was fine, though.
    That is all from here for now. 
    We have the Kites Over Lake Michigan festival on Saturday and Sunday here by the beach.  We will drive by, but with my bum knee, there is no way I will try to trudge through the sand!
    I hope you all have a great Labor Day weekend.


Comments (19)

  • Why didn’t I know about your knee!?  Did I miss a post?  Wondered why you hadn’t been heard from.  Maybe it is just that I miss hearing from you more often like in the “old days”.

    Do hope that you get to doing better before the sis gets there.  Guess most in this upper mid-west and even us in central are having early fall.  Just hope the winter isn’t terrible.  Of course it has been alot of years since we have had big snows.  Seems we have had more ice than snow and earlier in the winter in recent years.  I’m not ready for any of it.

    Guess Granny is in Topeka this weekend.  Bet she and Ruth Ann have a grand old time.  She will go on to OK City from there and meet other Xangans along the way.  Wish I could go with her.  She will come by here on the way home.

    Dentist was not a good news place.  2200 for the work yet to come.  I hope I can put it on payments and do most of it myself.  This isn’t a good thing after all we’ve spent on the house and there are still things to do outside before winter such as gravel for the lane etc.

    Actually a bit cold here today with the breeze.  Rain part of the day and cloudy.  Gives such a damp feeling in the house with doors and windows open.  I usually throw our bath towels in the dryer after we use them when it is like this or they never dry.

    DILove is coming just for part of the day tomorrow and Sunday.  Has some meeting with church ladies for something Monday.  Probably a cookout or something.  I didn’t get everything when she called while we were in Walmart.

    If it isn’t raining tomorrow we will go to the local parade and grab a burger or something for lunch.  Usually go to the Cattlemen’s bbq or grab a buffalo burger.  DILove and Wil will probably go to the rodeo tomorrow night.  I haven’t gone for years because of climbing the bleachers and the uneven ground but have to see.  I just don’t want to fall and make a fool of myself and I fall so easily.

    Do hope that your knee gets better and that you are able to enjoy the visitors when they get there.

  • What a beautiful garden too. Sorry to hear about your knee. Just hate pain and do hope it is fully back to normal when your company does come. (((HUGS)))

  • Hate to hear about the knee problem.. I know you love to be on the move.  Take care of yourself.  Loved the garden pictures, especially the gold hand mower. Only problem is I could see the whole picture when I was reading via my sub list but when I came to your site the column is so narrow it cuts out some of the picture. At least it is that way on this computer. Might not be for others.

  • Well I see this is really very narrow so a lot of scrolling. Fortunately I read it in email and enjoy the garden a bunch.

  • I was able to read it on your site but it’s been” cut ” in half here Sorry about your knee, hope the healing speeds up for you especially before the visitors arrive. Beautiful garden, great ideas to compliment her flowers. Marie

  • Sorry about the knee.  Seems things sprain easier these days!  Hang in there.  Glad Ken has been such a super helper!  Love TONTOO

  • I hope you enjoyed the kite festival , today Nancy.
    Take care of your knee and see a doctor . Janine got a tendinitis recently . It was very painful . The meds ordered by the doctor has been efficient but she must be prudent . Is she ? hmm ! Bravo to Ken for his devotion .
    I am amazed by the garden of your SIL . It is an artist ‘ s garden .

     Love
    Michel

  • So sorry your knee is out of commision and hoep you are 100% real soon.  Your SIL’s garden is beautiful.  I love the charm of her garage sale items painted to fit the garden.  Happy your husband has been such a good helper to you.

    Take care.

  • Oh, you Kneed to get better soon.  Love your flowers. 

  • hope you are on the mend and I am sorry I missed your birthday…God Bless sweetie! Happy belated birthday.

    hugs,
    sage

  • It’s been awhile since you posted and I hope that the knee is better now…

    What an inspiration those garden vignettes are.!  Our yard is a mess.  John has always hated yard work and I am not able to do it.  Still can’t bend much(although I have to and it does bother me).  It’s only been a little over 4 mos since my hip surgery.  That’s one reason why we want to rent…no yard responsibility.  I can go over and look at Val’s yard.  She the Master Gardener in the family.  The place we are renting in IN has a lot of beautiful trees.  I’m really looking forward to IN.

    John is doing better today…Not great but…much better.  Our nephew’s visit was a great help.

  • I hope that your knee is feeling better!

    The pictures from the gardens are just beautiful!  I especially like the yellow garden.  It is just amazing the things you can find at yard sales.  I just love them.

    The popcorn salad sounds so weird!  Maybe when you make it you can post a picture of it so we can see what it looks like!! (hint, hint! hahah)

  • IYou have and will have visitors , Nancy . It is a joy but as you say go slowly to take care of your knee even if you get much better ..
    I think you will have matter to blog !
    My visit here gives me the opportunity to admire again the garden . Frankly it is a wonder .

    Love
    Michel

  • I hope you’re ok!

    Just checking.

  • Well, I see I’m not the only one neglecting Xanga! hee hee.,..how’s your knee doing? Hope all is well..just stopped by to say Hi and that I’m thinking of you

  • Thanks for those prayers…That does mean  a lot although I need to pray for patience since I feel this stuff with John should be gone by now.  Hopefully, we’ll know something next week.  If he’s ok, we may escape this place and head up to the mts. or something.

  • hope you are doing better…love your pictures, always a treat! as you can see, I have a new addition to my house, a new man (not what you think) lolol

    sage  

  • Happy Birthday. Sorry about your knee. Well even if your company did not come the house is nice and clean. Beautiful photos. Judi

  • RYC :Thank you for your comment,nancy, about the products of my veggie garden . You are right , Janine works in it as much as me but especilally for the crop , the picking , the canning , the freezing and the ” jellying ” !!

    Yes the car is repaired after a week but our holidays were down . We started on a Monday morning and we were back home on the same Monday , in the evening ( with a rental car )!!!! We took the train last Thursday to get the car repaired . Huge bill !!!

    About knee , janine also has a problem at the right knee : an articular dic fissured . She is asking if she will have to get another surgery . Again !
    I hope you knee is healed and you have no more painn .
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *