Month: December 2010

  • Yes, I am still alive!!  lol   I just had to come here to Xanga to wish all my wonderful friends here a VERY BLESSED CHRISTMAS AND A FANTASTIC, HEALTHY NEW YEAR!

    I have been on Facebook a lot.  Addicted, for sure.  But have also been having a lot of

    internet problems.  It would slow down so much that I couldn't get into anything, and sometimes not even getting e-mail for a day or so.  Then it would clear up.  This had been going on for a couple years---off and on.  We had a blizzard almost 2 weeks ago, and it my internet had been terrible since then.  Finally called Charter tech support and spoke to a sweet girl in the Phillipines.  We tried for an hour to get it to work, and she finally decided to send a service man here.  She also mentioned that with the package we have, we could get a digital receiver installed, and receive some extra channels on our TV for the same price we have been paying.  

    So, yesterday afternoon we had two service men here. One for the internet and the other to hook up two of our TV's with a digital receiver.  For a while it was a comedy of errors.  My internet problem was the modem---which had been provided by Charter.  So he replaced that.  The other guy was setting up the digital receiver at the same time, and had just gotten our big tv here in the living room working properly, and then went upstairs to do the other tv.  In the meantime, the internet guy used his PDA (I think) to do some setting of the new modem, and somehow messed up the other guys setting of the tv.  When the tv guy came downstairs and used HIS PDA to fix this tv again, he loused up the modem setting for the internet guy.  They were both good-natured about it.

    Had to stop for an hour---got a call from Jeff in AZ.  I think that since I last wrote here on Xanga that he has gotten a different job.  It is with another small sign company, and he loves it.  He is doing more installation work, than just working in the office.  It is only him and the two owners, who are very easy to get along with.  They still love it there.  We plan on going out there maybe in February---in our new motor home.

    Yes, we finally found one----after almost 3 yrs.!  It is small, but perfect for us.  Once we get out to AZ, Jeff will help make some modifications to it for us.  Mainly a back-up camera, since there is no back window.  

    We picked it up from Appleton on Wednesday, so we are still learning all it's features.  The service guy at the camper company took us through everything, but it was too much to absorb all at one time.  So we are studying the manual!!

    Other than that, life goes on.  Son, Greg, was a little worried for a while.  The private country club he has been Superintendent at for so many years was just sold to 14 of it's members, and will be going public--or maybe semi-public, can't remember.  Thankfully, the new owners appreciate Greg's dedication to his job, and will be keeping him on.  In these tough economic times, it is a blessing, for sure!

    I gave away my BIG Christmas tree this year, to a gal who uses the branches to make craft projects to give away to needy people.  It was the type where each individual branch had to be put into the base, and lights put on as it went up.  All the bending over had gotten to be too much for my back.  Ended up buying a 6' white tree.  It is beautiful!  Didn't even use half of my ornaments on it.  But it was so quick and easy to put up.   3 sections, prelit.  Saved me hours!!

    The call from Jeff really put me behind schedule today.  Must get going to get things ready for tomorrow.  Will try to get back on here after the first of the year.  Our big family get-together will again be on the 30th---for Ken's 74th birthday.  Annual tradition.

     Michel, thanks for reminding me to come back and write.  Couldn't do it before this, because of my internet problems!  I was able to get onto my main Facebook page and comment from there, but almost anything else refused to load for me.

    I pray that you all have a Blessed Christmas season, and a Happy and Healthy New Year!!!  Love you all!